L’Oreal Infallible Shaping Stick Foundation – My Thoughts…

I remember being around 15 years old – awkwardly coming into myself, having no idea where and what direction my life was going to go in and what changes will come and go throughout my life. One thing I knew then and know now is my love for make-up and especially L’Oreal – ever since I discovered the brand after secretly stealing products from my mums make-up bag… sorry mum.

The product that kickstarted my very expensive make-up obsession was the good old classic L’Oreal True Match foundation. My mum who used to regularly use sunbed’s and any other possible way of tanning meant of course her skin tone was A LOT darker than the milky-way kid’s over here, which meant sporting the good old umper-lumper look to school everyday. Luckily though I don’t think I was the only 15 year old girl who used to steal their mums makeup, so it seemed to sort of become a trend to rock the orange face and white neck look back then.

IMG_0698

When I heard that L’Oreal was bringing out the infallible stick foundation my inner-teenager – that still wants to stick around longer than it should – came out and I had run to my closest Boots and pick one up. After using the True Match and Infallible liquid foundation for quite a long time now I was slightly sceptical how anything else was going to compare and dare compete with these amazing and very beloved products of mine.

Although the Infallible stick foundation has now been out for a month or so, I thought it’d be best to truly trial and test it out before writing a post about it.

IMG_0700

I picked up shade 160 Sable, because although I am naturally very very pale, I do occasionally tan and never let my true vampiresque shade come out and scare anyone (not that there is anything wrong with being pale, but naturally I look like someone from the walking-dead). The availablity in the foundation is quite limiting in diversity offering only 12 shades, so it may be a little hard for someone to find their exact match.

IMG_0718 2

Before applying the foundation I prepped my skin and sprayed it with the Mario Badescu Facial Spray so it had a somewhat even canvas. Now my first impression didn’t blow me away at all. I stroked the product on one side of my face around three times to see the shade match and consistency. Of course being a stick foundation meant it was going to be relatively creamy, but it kind of reminded me of a mousse texture and gave me serious Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse vibes. I originally applied the product by drawing strokes across one side of my face and used a brush to buff it in, however I found the brush was sort of just moving the product around my face and wasn’t giving me any sort of coverage. L’Oreal claim the product ‘seamlessly melts into the skin without a mask effect’ but I felt it was just sitting on top of my skin like a thick mousse-y mask.

IMG_0701

Finding that this way wasn’t really cutting it, I tried applying the other side by brushing a stipple brush directly onto the tip of the foundation and then applying stroking motions directly onto my face which worked amazingly better. It gave me more precision and allowed the product to work into the skin without looking cakey.

This product is now my go-to-grab foundation and my other beloved products are now sitting at the back of my foundation draw awaiting their moment of recognition. I find the foundation lasts all day as long as it is set evenly with a powder and found other products, both creams and powders, work amazingly over the top. It gives me a flawless, texture-free, bright and youthful appearance – what more could you want? –  my Mum is now the one wanting to steal my make-up, would you look at that.

IMG_0717

L’Oreal Paris Infallible Foundation Stick £8.99 

T X

Leave a comment